2010 Award Winners - Pentland Canoe Club - Pentland Canoe Club

Go to content

Main menu:

2010 Award Winners

Published by in News ·

Broken Paddle
The Clubs first award and dates back to 1984. This is given to the most interesting mishap which has occurred whilst canoeing. The 2010 Recipient is Ivor Muir for his escapade in benign conditions when he was coaching. Whilst near rocks, a freak wave (reports say 1.5m) came in and managed to wipe out him and one of his students (Mark). Of course, Ivor was not wearing a helmet. Reports suggest that the other 2 in the group did were not sure how to rescue them because of the rough conditions. Ivor might have even sustained a small injury (nose bleed) to complete the escapade and ensure the Broken Paddle Award.

Improver Award
The award is given to an individual whom is considered to have improved their canoeing skills during the year. The recipient of the award is decided by the Club coaches. The award was first presented in 1991. The 2010 Recipient is Sophie Muller.

Sea Voyager Trophy
A Trophy denoted by Terry Jones (one of the Founder members of the Club). This is awarded annually to the person, who in the opinion of the Committee was responsible for the best sea kayaking expedition / trip of the year. In considering which expedition, the Committee considers the number of people who took part, the number of days that the expedition took and distance covered. The 2010 Recipient is Ken Nicol for the Latheron / Berriedale and Armadale / Bettyhill trips).

Back to content | Back to main menu